Hey everyone I am reposting this a little as some of you don’t know what I was talking about when I said I had a surgery date.  It has been awhile since I said anything.  Here you go……


I am 24 and have the following problems: PCOS, hypertension (high blood pressure), sleep apnea, psuedo tumor cerebri, infertility, cronic heartburn, hypothyrodism, and a few other minor problems. 


As a result of all these things I am fat.  I don’t mean 15 pound over weight or even 50 pounds, I mean 130 pounds over weight.  I have been told that I will never lose the weight without treatment of these problems.  The problem is they have treated each one but with everything else that is wrong they can’t pinpoint one thing at a time to treat because they can’t tell if things are working.  I have also been told that without treatment I could be blind by 35, or even die of a heart attack in the next few years, be diabetic by 30, and never have children to name a few things. 


So I oppted for the treatments…. Diets, pills, creams, hormones, tests, poking and prodding, xrays, catscans, (almost but thank God not spinal taps), endless bloodtests, and through it all two miscarrages.  These health problems have been marching steadily forward since I was about 15 but in the last four years (most of my married life) they are really taking over.   So after four years of some truly harsh and sadly hopless treatments my doctors have decided that I am a perfect canadate for gastric bypass surgery. 


When this surgery was suggested it was not some light and easy decision to make for me.  I prayed studied and ended up in six months of classes and seminars.  I will go through months of excrutiating pain while my body heals and relearns its functions.  I will spend the rest of my life eating 1/2 of a cup of food five times a day.  Just to illistrate, 1/2 a cup is one of those little apple sauce cups. It is a major physical, mental, and lifestyle change that I will have to work on every day for the rest of my life. 


But I have exhausted all of the other options open to me and none have so much as touched a problem let alone resolved it.  So I am going to have this major surgery, go through this pain, and God willing come out the other side healthy, happy, able to bear children, and be a good and active mother.  But that will still take years.  I figured out that if I have my surgery in December I may be holding a baby in my arms as early as January of 2007.


They have told me that this will litarally be my miricle.  That it will enable me to feel 24 instead of 44.  It will be my new lease on life.  So although it will be hard and it will deffinatly involve sacrifice I think some things are worth it.  Like being a mother, a good wife, having energy, being young…. The list goes on and on.  So that is what I will be doing in about a month.  I’m not even nervous anymore.  It took so long with the insurence that now its just “Get it over with so I can get on with my new Life!”  You know what I mean?  Talk to you all later.

11 thoughts on “

  1.  yes i do have a co worker who is in the hospital right now for a few days after she had the procedure. i’ll be praying for ya!!!!  it’ll be exciting but like you were saying it’ll be hard at the beginning. but God can make it less painful and quicker recovery!

  2. Gastric bypass, i have three co-workers who have gone through that.  A year later and you wouldnt believe the results.  Amazing.  I wish you luck.  Your future weight loss might even help your hypertension and sleep apnea (i type for a local hospital). 

  3. I’m sorry for what you have had to go through, but I hope that everything works out and God grants you your hearts desire. My heart goes out to you.
    God Bless
    -Gia

  4. I will be praying for you. I know what it feels like in a way to want a child too. im only 18, but last year I started to get ovarian crysts. the same time monique did and we both have been going through the pain and treatments together. they told me that i would not be able to have children. i get these terrible terrible pains that cause me to throw up and pass out and cant sleep..i hate it. the worst part is knowing that michael and i really want to have children together some day. he already has a name for our daughter if  we have one. i will be praying for you. your comment brightened me. thank you! i needed that so much. all these people around me here at college only try to change my mind about him just because i wont go out with them i guess. at least derrick and adrian are those reasons. it furiates me! people who havent served..guys who sit and complain about politics without ever knowing hat they are saying..makes me sick. and you are so right about doing what i feel is right. i love michael and i know he is the one. he completes me entirely and he is such an increadible person. anyhoo. im keeping you in my prayers and i know you will be okay!
    daphne

  5. i will most surely keep you updated on whats going on. im trying to get better before mikey gets home saturday. lets hope!!

  6. Honey, you will most definately be in my prayers through all this.  My hubby’s aunt and uncle both had the surgery and they are so much better off because of it.  They are able to be better parents to their children and can do so much more and just feel better about themselves.  I am very happy for you that you are taking this step to better your health.  I am praying and praying for you. 
    Thank you so very much for all your support and care the past week or so.  Even though you have so MUCH going on in your own life, you still take the time to reach out to me, and that means so very much.  You are an incredible woman and I admire your strength.  How I wish I had some of what you have.  I struggle with so MUCH, religion and my faith in God included, and in you I see some of what I wish I had.  You have been such an inspiration to me…
    I wont be around much for a few days as I am moving, but I hope to be back around about Monday or so.  Hang in there.
     Jess
    P.S.  I LOVE Jane Austen!  I am SUCH a fan of her novels and others from that era, though my favorite I think is Emma.  My absolute FAVORITE novel of all time though is Wuthering Heights  I think Heathcliff is an amazing character…

  7. I just wanted to say goodluck to you, I have a cousin who was told without gastric bypass her life was pretty much a ticking time bomb. Three years later and she is still doing well. I will pray for you that this surgery will be the answer to your health problems and allow you to live life to its fullest extent.  I also wanted to say that I am very sorry that you are unable to have children. As I was growning up that was one of my biggest fears. Good luck to you and remember to lean on your friends and family for love and support because that is what they are there for.

  8. (((HUGS))) with everything…it must be a difficult decision but also a relief…
    I’ll be sending prayers…
    BTW…I like the pics of your place!  Color is good….GREAT!
    Tif

Leave a Reply

