At 7:09pm I got a phone call telling me that my grandfather was having problems.  He had never woken up and his blood pressure was dropping his surgeon was back and they were going to take him back in.  They told me to take a quick shower and be ready, they would call me when they got to the hospital and let me know if I needed to come.  At 7:48pm my phone rang I thought they were calling me to come to the hospital…… But they called to tell me we had lost him.  Sometime before that phone call he flatlined and it was over.  I have lost my grandfather.


He was 83years old.  He lived a good full life.  He is survived by two sons and a wonderful wife.  And a family that stretches on.  He leaves an incredible legacy behind.  Us.  He has four generations that knew him and loved him and that through his prayers and example were all saved.  He died knowing that tonight all his questions would be answered, he would see Jesus face to face, and every member of his family was going to be with him one day.  He went with dignity still intact, in his sleep with no pain, and with the love of his family all around him. 


Thank you so much for all your thoughts and prayers and I just ask that you continue to pray for us, his family.  Because our grief is not for him, he is happier than he has ever been now, our grief is for us, for our loss.  I am having a really hard time but I do know this.  Every spring no matter where I am or what I am doing I will plant pansies for him. (For those of you who didn’t read the previous posts, before he went in to surgery I said I would bring him flowers when they let me and he asked me to bring pansies because they were his favorite flower.  I never knew that. )  So I will plant pansies for him.   


So tomorrow we are having a big thanksgiving with that side of the family and we are going to mourn him but give thanks for the life he led and how quick and painless his death was.  We will give thanks that he died happy, knowing his family was all around us.  We will give thanks that we had an oppertunity to say goodbye, and that we will have the oppertunity to see him again in heaven. 


I love you grandpa.  Thank you for everything, every little thing.  You are my hero.  Godspeed.

3 thoughts on “

  1. I am sorry this comment is so late. But I am so sorry. You and your family are in my thoughts and prayers.
    We know he is in a better place though.
    … Heather …

Leave a Reply

