Today I have a request.  Please pray for my grandfather, Don Jones. Today he went in to a heart surgeon to have an angeogram.  He has now know for a few weeks that two valves in his heart were leaking.  Surgery was recommended but due to his health his chances were less than prefered.  He went in today to have this test and discuss options.  At 2pm the call went out…. He has been admitted to the ICU.  He is scheduled for an emergency triple bypass and valve replacement at 9am MT tomorrow morning (Wednesday the 24th).  They told us that in the three arteries that they will be bypassing he has 80% blockage in one, 90% in the second, and 100% in the third.  This will of course affect his chances of surviving the surgery. 


It is so very hard to comprehend that we might lose this man who has been a source of great wisdom and no less than a mentor to all in his family.  We love him so dearly and pray that God’s will be done in this. 


I just ask that you would add your prayers for him to those who are already doing so.  Pray for this man that if it is his time to go it will be quick and painless but if we are allowed to have him for a little longer that his recovery be swift and complete.  Pray for his family that we would have the strength to accept any outcome and the glue to hold us together through whatever may come.  But above all that God’s will be done in all. 


We all went to the hospital tonight and spoke with him and it was very hard.  My grandfather said goodbye to me.  He took my hand and said that he was proud of me.  Of who I had become.  Of my marriage and my faith.  He kissed my hand and said that no matter what to remember that I have always been in his prayers and that he loves me.  He said similar things to both my sisters, my mother and my father. 


It was torture to say goodbye to someone whom I don’t want to believe will be gone soon.  I had a really hard time sitting there and smiling at this man who I love so dearly and hearing him speak to me as if it would be the last time.  I even made a stupid joke.  I told him that he was just going in to have his heart refubished and sometimes a refurbished part was better than an original.  It feels like a dumb thing to say if it was the last time I spoke to him. 


Then he asked something that shocked me.  I told him I would bring him flowers when they would let me and he asked for potted pansies because they were his favorite flowers.  I didn’t know that.  There are so many things I don’t know.  God I don’t want him to die…. but your will be done. 


But as grandpa reminded us all God works for those who love the Lord and he has us all in the hollow of his hand.  Nothing will happen that we can’t handle. 


“1 I will lift up my eyes to the hills from whence comes my help?  2 My help comes from the Lord, who made heaven and earth.  3 He will not allow your foot to be moved, He who keeps you will not slumber.  4 Behold, He who keeps Israel shall neither slumber nor sleep.  5 The Lord is your keeper, the Lord is your shade at your right hand.  6 The sun shall not strike you by day, nor the moon by night.  7 The Lord shall preserve you from all evil, He shall preserve your soul,  8  The Lord shall preserve your going out and your coming in from this time forth, and even forevermore.”  Psalms 121 


Things I am thankful for…


My faith, my family, long conversations, my husband, my dogs, life, sunshine, love, my home, flowers, saying hello, the chance to say goodbye, life lived in full, my grandpa asking me to bring him pansies, the chance to be together for the holidays even when I’m dumb enough to complain about all the work, white puffy clouds,  cold winter days, warm spring nights, five minutes when all you have to do is listen to crickets, so many other things I couldn’t write them all, the fact that there are so many other things…….


These are the words to the song I am listening to tonight.  I just had to post them because they are so appropriate for what I am going through right now.


  Oh great God
Be small enough
To hear me now
There were times when I was crying
From the dark of Daniel’s den
I had asked you once or twice
If you would part the sea again
Tonight I do not need a
Fiery pillar in the sky
Just want to know you’re gonna
Hold me if I start to cry

Oh great God
Be small enough to hear me now
Oh great God
Be close enough to feel you now
(Oh great god be close to me)
There have been moments when I could not face
Goliath on my own
And how could I forget we marched
Around our share of Jerichos
But I will not be setting out
A fleece for you tonight
Just wanna know that everything will be alright
Oh great god be close enough to feel me now

All praise and all the honor be
To the god of ancient mysteries
Whose every sign and wonder
Turn the pages of our history
But tonight my heart is heavy
And I cannot keep from whispering this prayer
Are you there?

And I know you could leave writing
On the wall that’s just for me
Or send wisdom while I’m sleeping
Like in Solomon’s sweet dreams
But I don’t need the strength of Sampson
Or a chariot in the end
Just wanna know that you still know how many
Hairs are on my head
Oh great God (Are you small enough)
Be small enough to hear
Me now


This is a little out of tone with the rest of this post but my husband sent me this ecard and it made me laugh.  He didn’t yet know what was going on and it was just so cute I can’t resist putting it here.  So here is the link. 


http://www.talkingbuddy.com

3 thoughts on “

  1. i will be praying for him today..i cannot imagine what it would be like to lose a grandfather cuz i haven’t yet. but i pray that he will come out of the surgery with success in Jesus name!

  2. hey hon, i will pray for your grandpa, losing family members is so hard…as for my trip, i did have a good time, thank you, and yes it does suck that spencer is leaving on christmas day but everytime that i think about it, i refer to the poem at the top of my page (minus the stuff in parinthesis. heh)

Leave a Reply

