Please keep reading this is not a depressing post!  At least I hope not.


Do you ever feel like nothing will ever go your way?  Do you ever think you are cursed with bad luck?  Do you ever feel like it is you against the world?  Do you ever feel like you are cursed to fail in everything you attempt?  Do you frequently want to murder those around you who say life isn’t fair or everything will be okay? 


Boy I do. 


I was thinking today how funny it is that one sentence can change the meaning behind a paraghraph, one word a sentence and one letter a word.  Everything in life is such a balance.  It feels like everything goes wrong but do you ever stop and marvel that so much goes right?  Everything you say or do or every expression or inflection makes a difference.  I think this is amazing.  If you really think about it this way, the things that go wrong are only the exception.  Life is an amazing gift. 


So anyway this whole thing comes from a Bible verse I stumbeled across in my devotion today.  Everybody knows it and I mean everybody.  After its debut in the Bible it became a hit song in the 70’s.  I would just refer to it but it is kind of important for you to hear the whole thing if you want to get the rest of this post so please read it really read it. I will explain at the end.


“1 To everything there is a season, A time for every purpose under heaven. 2 A time to be born, and a time to die.  A time to plant and a time to pluck what is planted. 3  A time to kill, and a time to heal, A time to break down and a time to build up. 4  A time to weep, and a time to laugh.  A time to mourn and a time to dance. 5  A time to cast away stones, and a time to gather stones.  A time to embrace, and a time to refrain from embracing.  6  A time to gain, and a time to lose, A time to keep, and a time to throw away, 7  A time to tear and a time to sew, A time to keep silence, and a time to speak.  8 A time to love and a time to hate, A time of war and a time of peace.” 
Ecclesiastes 3:1-8


Did you notice that not one thing there doesn’t have an opposite?  If things are bad in this time they will be good in another.  If you are mourning now you will be happy again.  If you are broken down there will be a time of rebuilding.  And in this time of war there is assurence of a time of peace.


I just found this so refreshing somehow.   My husband and I are always joking that we have terrible luck.  Everything that can go wrong will go wrong.  But here is assurence that this will not always be the case.  It may take years but in the end things will get better.   Its a good thing to know. 


Okay for all of you who have made it this far here is some cheesy stuff.  I read this other passage in the Song of Solomon which is an Xrated book biblicaly.  Something about this verse made me feel, I don’t know, sad that my husband is not here, young like when I was first married, happy to the point of dancing, and truely madly deeply in love.  But it is a little goofy because I have to tell you that if my husband ever said this to me I would have a heart attack from the physical exertion of laughing so hard.  I think it is just the spirit of it.  Even though it is from another time, place, and culture it speakes to young love so here you go…..


The Beloved’s Request
“10 My beloved spoke, and said to me, ‘Rise up, my love, my fair one, and come away.  11 For lo, the winter is past, the rain is over and gone.  12 The flowers appear on the earth, the time of singing has come, and the voice of the turtledove is heard in our land.  13 The fig tree puts froth her green figs, and the vines with tender grapes give a good smell.  Rise up, my love, my fair one, and come away!  14 O my dove, in the clefts of the rock, in the secret places of the cliff, let me see your countenence, let me hear your voice, for your voice is sweet, and your countenence lovely.” 
Her reply
“16 My beloved is mine, and I am his.”


Something about that is just so innocent and trusting.  Basically they are so in love that the worries of the world fall away and all that matters is just to be with each other.  Sometimes it is good to be reminded of how that feels,  because, let’s face it, life is full of crap.  Sometimes you miss the important little details because you are focused on the big things.  What is that saying, “Life is in the journey not the destination.”  So everything you do, every little thing, matters.  To you and to those around you. 


So I guess this whole post was just an elaborate way of saying…..  Stop and smell the roses.   Oh well I was trying to be original. 

5 thoughts on “

  1. My favorite quote of yours in this post is, ” Life is full of crap”..hehe..You are so funny..Plus I’m still laughing at you saying, there is no way to say this and not have it sound bad, so in the most happily married tone, whatever you said, oh my I was lmao..
    I especially enjoyed this post of yours..You are a very good writer..
    I’m beginning to think that we were twins seperated at birth or something, with all the things we have in common, lol..You know how they say there is someone out there exactly like you?  Maybe we have stumbled across each other lol..Or maybe not and its just too early in the morning and I’m dilusional..hehehe..oh my, I need sleep lol..
    Anyway, I hope you have a good day..
    *hugs* kritti

  2. Wow, and wow again.  I so needed to read that.  Thanks so much for posting that.  I totally feel like God is just lovingly smacking me upside the head at the moment…thank you so very much for your support on my site, and for this post.  I am in tears right now… Jess

  3. thanks for your comment and prayers =)  that ecc verse i’m going to give to my gf.  she’s having to move out of her house pretty quick becuz of her family situation she needs and wants to get out of. and we have to be cautious to not “burn the bridge” anymore during this weekend of this move.  prayers are greatly appreciated.   i’m going to subscribe to you, this was a great post!

  4. Just a word here, a letter there, and viola’. You nailed this one funny girl. Good job.   Lots o’ Love…                                           Auntie Angel Love the Changes…

Leave a Reply

